The Jan Sikshan Sansthan (JSS) of Malappuram district won the top Indian award in the field of lifelong education, Saakshar Bharat Award instituted by National Literacy Mission Authority for outstanding achievements in skill development for the year 2014. It is the first national award won by a JSS district unit in the Kerala State and the award is bestowed after evaluating the activities of JSS’ functioning in 260 districts in the country. JSS Chairman, Mr. P.V. Abdul Wahab, received the award from the honourable President, Mr. Pranab Mukherjee at a function at Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi, on 8 th Sep 2014.


Under the Chairmanship of Mr. Wahab, the Jan Sikshan Sansthan (JSS), Malappuram, won the prestigious UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy from UN Secretary General, Mr. Bank Ki Moon in Paris during Sep 2016. The award for the Best NGO has been conferred on the JSS in recognition of its literacy-linked skill development activities among the underprivileged in rural areas and the social changes the organization has brought about. The JSS bagged the prestigious international award for its initiatives in applying new technology in literacy. Innovations such as Braille applications and the talking pen used by the JSS impressed UNESCO.


JSS Malappuram unit was honoured with a national award, the prestigious Tagore Literacy Award, from Indian Adult Education Association of the Central Govt. for its contributions in the fields of literacy and continuous education. As the Chairman of JSS Malappuram, Mr. P.V. Abdul Wahab, received the award from the honourable Vice President, Mr. Venkaiah Naidu at a function at his residence in New Delhi, in July 2018.